Search by title
If you have a newspaper title
If you know the title of a newspaper for the place you're interested in (and it's totally OK to use Google and Wikipedia here) then you can use a periodical title search in the Library Catalog to see if we have access to that newspaper online or in some analog format.
Once you find the newspaper, you can search it for the topic or article you need.
Search ALICE for a newspaper title
Enter the name of the newspaper you want, and click search
If there is more than one item, choose you need. Online newspapers will have [electronic resource] inlcuded in their title
Click the link to go to the database. There may be more than one, with different dates. Choose the option that fits the date range you need.
International Newspaper Databases
-
17th and 18th century Burney Collection Newspapers
Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. More than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages are included.
-
FactivaProvides full-text access to articles from over 9,000 publications from trade, magazine, and newspaper sources. Also provides stock prices, company reports, company financial information and ratios.
-
Gale Primary SourcesThe Artemis Primary Source interface allows searching across multiple databases: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collections, Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO), Nineteenth Century US newspapers, The Times Digital Archive (Times of London) and US Declassified Documents Online.
-
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
The Illustrated London News is the world’s first and perhaps most celebrated illustrated newspaper. The fact that the rise of the Illustrated London News coincided with the expansion of the British Empire throughout the non-Western world gives it added relevance and historical significance. The archive offers over 260,000 pages of fully searchable text.
-
Latin American Newspapers- Series 1 and 2
Searchable online collection of historical Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Features newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and more. Part of the World Newspaper Archive, in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries.
-
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides access to cover-to-cover full text articles from more than 40 US and international newspapers, and selective full text from nearly 400 regional US newspapers. Access to select full text television and radio news transcripts is also provided.
-
Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers
The Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers (SEUN) collection traces the history of Ukraine during this tumultuous era—covering these and events leading up to WWII. Comprising over 50,000 pages and five titles, SEUN includes newspapers from three cities: Kyiv, Kharkiv, and Lviv. This collection includes newspapers in both Ukrainian and Russian.
-
World Newspaper Archive, African Newspapers Series 2 (1835-1925)
Searchable online collection of digitized historical Sub-Saharan African newspapers published between 1835 and 1925. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Algeria, Angola, Liberia, Madagascar, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa and Uganda. Newspapers include key publications like the Demain (Algeria), Africa’s Luminary (Liberia), France Orientale (Madagascar), Al-Moghreb Al-Aksa (Morocco); O Moçambique (Mozambique), Voortrekker (Namibia), Nigerian Times (Nigeria), Munno (Uganda) and many widely sought South African titles from Cape Town, Grahamstown, Port Elizabeth, Pietermaritzburg and Johannesburg. Among the South African titles are Black Man, British Settler, Cape Times, Johannesburg Times, South African Spectator and others.